Common Law Admission Test (CLAT)


CLAT, the Common Law Admission Test, is an entrance exam organized by the National Law Universities to take admission in well recognized 17 NLUs. Only those students are eligible to give this test who have cleared the higher secondary examination, and want to take admission in undergraduate programs in Law field.


The Common Law Admission Test, is an all India examination, conducted by National Law Universities, to give admission to undergraduate and post graduation courses. The universities involved in this test are:


  1. National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU)
  2. National Academy of Legal Study and Research University of Law, Hyderabad (NALSAR)
  3. The National Law Institute University, Bhopal(NLIU)
  4. The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WBNUJS)
  5. National Law University, Jodhpur (NLUJ)
  6. Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur (HNLU)
  7. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar (GNLU)
  8. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow (RMLNLU)
  9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab (RGNUL)
  10. Chanakya National Law University, Patna (CNLU)
  11. The National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi (NUALS)
  12. National Law University Odisha, Cuttack (NLUO)
  13. National University of Study and Research in Law, Ranchi (NUSRL)
  14. National Law University and Judicial Academy, Assam (NLUJAA)
  15. Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University, Visakhapatnam (DSNLU)
  16. Tamil Nadu National Law School, Tiruchirappalli (TNNLS)
  17. Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai (MNLU)

Total number of seats in CLAT 2016 are 2342


Eligibility Criteria for CLAT

  1. An Applicant must have passed the higher secondary examination (10+2) or any other equivalent examination with a minimum of 45% marks overall in case of candidate belonging to General/OBC/Specially abled persons and 40% marks in case of candidate belonging to SC/ST category.
  2. There is no age limit for appearing into this examination.

Pattern of Major Law Entrance Exam :